Snorkeling in the Bahamas

There are two types of people in this world, Sinkers and Floaters.

A sinker is that person who jumps in the pool and immediately sinks to the bottom. They can even sit on the bottom of the pool without much effort. They dive for the quarters, get there first, then struggle against the weight of the water to get back to the surface. I’ve often thought these people would make excellent deep sea divers.

1375253730

The other type of person is the floater. These are the people who jump in the pool, lay back and float for hours. With very little effort they bob on the surface of the water, occasionally they kick a foot or move a wrist to turn or adjust, but they don’t really have to try to stay afloat, they just do.

yo yo

Now the sinkers and the floaters don’t do well in the same pool. The sinkers want to have tea parties on the bottom of the pool or play diving games. The floaters want to have contests to see who can tread water the longest or swim the length of the pool the fastest. Neither one is really all that interested in doing the other activity, because they just aren’t that good at it.

Wow. There are so many life lessons we can learn from sinkers and floaters. We can run analogies between deep thinkers (sinkers) and optimists (floaters).  Or between the research writer (plotter, aka sinker) and the off the cuff (pantser, aka floater).  Check out ObeytheMuse.com on 8-22 for more about sinkers and floaters.

But what this post is really about is SNORKELING!1375253751

I am a floater in almost every way mentioned (I do like a well plotted story, though.)  I float. You could use me as a buoy, I am so buoyant. I could be the sole life saving object on a cruise ship, I float so well.  So you can imagine how well I took to snorkeling.

We took the sail boat out with a load of about 12 other passengers and maybe 6 crew members. We used the motor for the trip to the reef. As we sped across the vibrant turquoise waters, bouncing on the waves, the thought came to me. “I was born to do this.” I was reconnecting with some primal intuition, an earlier form of me. It felt like coming home.

1375253747

When we got to the reef, I slid into the water, put on my flippers, mask, and snorkel and kicked away from the boat. I had on a life jacket, but didn’t blow it up much, because, hey, floater here!

Once I put my face into the water, I gasped through the snorkel in amazement. The colors were so vibrant, neon colors radiated from the fish and the flora. I couldn’t bring myself to take my head out of the water. It was gorgeous.

I became aware of some screaming noises, muffled by the water in my ears and finally wrenched my head up to see what was going on. When I lifted my head, there was nothing in front of me but wide open ocean. I turned around to where the shouts were coming from and saw the sail boat far in the distance. They were waving me back.  I couldn’t believe I had gone so far in such a short time.

I ducked my head back into the water and started back toward the boat.

1375253745

Some of you are aware that I came home with an injury and I promised to tell you about the shark attack. So I guess this is the perfect place to relay that story.

As I kicked back toward the boat with my head down watching a school of neon striped fish, a shadow passed through my peripheral vision and I turned in time to see something large swim away behind me. I talked myself into believing it was just another snorkeler and went back to watching the gorgeous sites around me.

1375253732

Well…the screaming from the boat intensified. I raised my head to make sure I was back on course and saw the crew from the boat screaming and jumping up and down.

“Swim! Faster!” They motioned with their arms for me to come to them. One of the young men grabbed what appeared to be a hand held harpoon and dove in toward me.

I turned to see what the commotion was about, when BAM! It hit me. I felt a sharp sting in my right ankle. The water around me immediately turned red and I thought I was on fire. Then I saw the fin pop up about six feet away, it turned toward me and dove down…

So, that would have been a great snorkeling injury story, don’t you think?  Unfortunately, my story is not so glamorous or exciting. The truth is we docked the boat, gathered our things to leave, and moved toward the queue of people filing off the boat. There was a drop in the floor about three inches. I landed on the edge, twisted my ankle and went down.  Boring! Painful, yes. But so boring.  I like the shark story better, don’t you? Let’s go with that one.1375253748

After we completed our snorkeling time, we raised the sails, passed around the rum punch and drifted off into the deep blue sea.

Caron, one of the Bahamian crew, fell crazy in love with Dayla. He followed her around, dove for treasures, proposed marriage and asked her out to dinner. He was besotted! (Why not, she’s a treasure!)  She said she was here with her mom and that we already had dinner plans. He was crushed. Poor Caron.1375253729

The underwater shots we got are pale and muted imitations compared to the vibrant intensity of the real deal. But, here are a some of the shots.

13752537441375253727

I WILL do this again. I plan to Snorkel on every vacation from now on. It is the perfect water activity for a champion floater.1375253735

6 thoughts on “Snorkeling in the Bahamas

  1. Best line ever! “She said she was here with her mom and that we already had dinner plans. He was crushed. Poor Caron.” I would have been crushed if I were him.

    But seriously, I had a pit in the bottom of my stomach. I totally fell for that story. Hook, like and sinker. Pun intended. By the way, I’m an inbetween. I neither sink nor float well. I have to really work at floating, but I can’t sink if I want too.

    I’m kind of like that in life as well 🙂

    Thanks for a very fun post, Mama LaD!

    Like

    • Glad to entertain! I forgot about the third category of people, the Sinkers, the Floaters, and the Drifters! Thanks for the reminder that there are people out there who drift in between the top and the bottom. (actually that’s probably most of us) LOL! Awesome!

      Like

  2. Yep, I couldn’t believe you bled in the water after a shark attack and lived to write the story! Very nice, LaD! I want to make a pact with you. If I ever die from a mundane stupid accident, will you rewrite the obit? And feel free to use all the artistic license details about how I would have PREFERRED to have gone on.

    🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

